East Cobb Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

Wheeler had 21 students named, the most of any Cobb high school.

The Wheeler Center for Advanced Studies, a STEM magnet school. Photo: Wheeler High School
The Wheeler Center for Advanced Studies, a STEM magnet school. Photo: Wheeler High School
Five high schools from East Cobb have students who were named semifinalists for National Merit Scholarships

Of the 60 Cobb students named, Wheeler had 21 students, Walton had 13, Pope had eight, Lassiter had three and Sprayberry had two. 

According to a release issued Wednesday by the Cobb County School district, the seniors "now have an opportunity to compete for more than 8,000 National Merit Scholarships that will be offered in Spring 2014."

The East Cobb students are: 

  • Lassiter: Nicholas J. Lindell, Rebekah H. Lippens, Richard L. Ludwig;
  • Pope: Matthew C. Brady, Tal D. Greber, Eric Y. Gu, Jordan A. Hale, Ashley S. Hansen, Lucas C. Oliver, Katharine P. Van Riper, Natalie C. Williams;
  • Sprayberry: MacKenzie Brackett, Victoria L. Pekala;
  • Walton: Udai Baisiwala, Matthew Boler, Honey Chawla, Andrew H. Cheng, Sarah E. Cover, Erin J. Davenport, Akash Doshi, Jugyeong Lee, Keiko Mori, Edward S. Park, Samuel L. Rapowitz, Tori M. Walker, Adam B Zhang;
  • Wheeler: William M. Andrews, June Y. Ding, Ildemaro J. Gonzalez, Timothy M. Gregg, Kurt M. Klinkmueller, Emily K. Maloney, Suneet Mishra, Sina H. Monfared, Robert A. Nussey, Yuanhan Pan, Jason Peng, Lydia A. Piendel, Patricia G. Ray, Priscilla N. Ryan, Nathan W. Su, Robert C. Taylor, Sarah Tran, Lydia J. Turnage, Anirudh Udutha, Young L. Ye, Linda Zhou.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »