Ott, Lee to Be Sworn In This Week

The District 2 commissioner and the Cobb Commission chairman will take the oath of office for their second terms on Wednesday and Thursday, respectively.

East Cobb Commissioner Bob Ott will be sworn in for a second term on Wednesday.

Ott, a Republican who was re-elected without opposition this year, will take the oath of office Wednesday at 4 p.m. in the office of Cobb Superior Court Judge Adele Grubbs, 70 Haynes St., Marietta.

His District 2 covers most of East Cobb below Roswell Road and the Smyrna-Vinings area.

In an article published in The Marietta Daily Journal on Monday, Ott pointed to his role in a number of commercial redevelopment issues as his main accomplishments, especially in the the Johnson Ferry Road and Powers Ferry Road corridors.

On Thursday, Cobb Commission Chairman Tim Lee will be sworn in.

Lee is an East Cobb resident who defeated former chairman Bill Byrne in the Republican primary runoff in August to win a full four-year term.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place Thursday at 10 a.m. in the 2nd floor BOC room, 100 Cherokee St., Marietta.

Lee was elected in 2010 fill the unexpired term of former chairman Sam Olens, now the Georgia Attorney General. Lee had been a District 3 commissioner, serving the Northeast Cobb area now represented by JoAnn Birrell.

Lee was re-elected in spite of his support of the roundly defeated TSPLOST referendum last summer and his vote to raise property taxes in 2011 to help the county close a $30 million budget deficit.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »